Tour of this LibGuide
Whether you're a teacher, student, zinester, or just interested in learning more, we hope that you find this guide useful in navigating the world of zines.
Starting Point
Listed here are just a few comprehensive websites, from different communities, that provide a great introduction to all aspects of zine culture.
- Barnard Zine LibraryBarnard College's Zine Library is an excellent resource not to search their own zine collection (see the "collections" tab of this LibGuide for more information), but also to learn more about other zine libraries around the world, as well as "zine basics" and how to use zines in research and teaching.
- The Book of ZinesThe Book of Zines, edited by Chip Rowe, compiles resources on everything regarding zines, from definitions, history, and how-to guides, to archived back issues, libraries, copyright advice, distribution, secondary sources, events, directories, and much more. Rowe also published a volume, aptly titled, The Book of Zines: Readings from the Fringe, which chronicles zine culture.
- Broken PencilBroken Pencil is a "mega-zine" that publishes four issues a year, reviewing hundreds of zines and other underground press publications. The website also features additional resources on zine-making, buying zines, and other communities.
- Grrrl Zine NetworkThe Grrrl Zine Network is dedicated to sharing resources on "Grrrl, lady, queer, and trans folk zines, distros and Do-It-Yourself projects from all over the world." Though the site is no longer maintained, the resources are still linked to visit zine collections, distros, blogs, workshops, interviews, libraries, and more.
- Zine LibrariesThis informal interest group shares resources on zine libraries from collections to programming and zine preservation, and has also produced a code of ethics (linked in the "creating citations" tab of this LibGuide). The site includes information on zine collection policies, shelving and cataloging, teaching and workshops.
- Zines DIY and self publication on RedditThis subreddit has over 11,000 community members, many of whom share their zines directly on the site as well as advice and other zine-making resources.
- ZineWikiZineWiki, created by Alan Lastuka, "catalogs the independent press, zinesters, authors, artists, and distros" and includes lists of zine events and libraries as a open-source database on all things zine-related.
References
Barnard College. (n.d.). Barnard Zine Library. https://zines.barnard.edu/
Broken Pencil (n.d.). About Broken Pencil. https://brokenpencil.com/about
Freedman, J. (2005). Zines are not blogs: A not unbiased analysis. Counterpoise 9(3), 10. https://doi.org/10.7916/D81N89N5
Lastuka, A. (2006). ZineWiki. Retrieved April 25, 2021, from https://zinewiki.com.
Philipp Messner. untitled image. Flickr. https://www.flickr.com/photos/philipp75/
Panuncial, D. (2019, July 2). By the numbers: International zine month. American Libraries Magazine. https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2019/07/02/by-the-numbers-international-zine-month/
Rowe, C. (1998). The Book of Zines: Readings from the Fringe. Retrieved April 25, 2021, from http://www.zinebook.com
Zine Librarians Interest Group. Zine Libraries. https://www.zinelibraries.info
Zines DIY and self publication • r/zines. (2008, December 10). Reddit. https://www.reddit.com/r/zines/
Zobl, E (2001). Grrrl Zine Network. Retrieved April 25, 2021, from http://www.grrrlzines.net/index.htm
What are zines?
Zines are small-batch publications, made with inexpensive and accessible materials, like copy paper. Individuals and collectives self-publish zines, or print and Xerox a series of them. Zines provide a platform for expression through writing and design, which is conducive for narratives that are personal, political, irreverent, and more. The following characteristics are often attributed to zines:
- self-published
- DIY
- community-oriented
- small-run
- made in multiples
- low-budget
- portable
- creative
- no barrier to entry
Fast Facts
This list of statistics appeared on the American Libraries Magazine website in July 2019, in celebration of International Zine Month. The text below is excerpted verbatim from the full article, By the Numbers: International Zine Month Stats on DIY zine culture.
2009
Year that Alex Wrekk, creator of Brainscan Zine, created International Zine Month in July.
138
Number of libraries in the United States that have zine collections as of 2019, according to Barnard College Zine Library in New York City.
10
Number of minutes before Chicago Zine Fest sold out all of their artist tables in May 2019.
$5
Average price of zines sold at Zinecinnati, June 8, 2019, Cincinnati’s first zine festival.
0885
Collection number of the University of Iowa Library’s Zine Machine, a vending machine that dispenses zines. The Zine Machine started in 2001 as a project in a “Structure of the Handmade Book” class.
76%
Percentage of zines by people of color that discuss issues of race and racism, according to a 2017 study from University College London.
80
Number of contributors to The Tenth zine’s first issue in 2014. The Tenth serves as an outlet for black and brown queer individuals to express themselves on issues in their respective communities.
1930
Year that the first science fiction zine, The Comet, was published by the Science Correspondence Club in Chicago.
1955
Year that the Hugo Award for Best Fanzine was first given at the World Science Fiction Convention in Cleveland.
$1,000
Amount Mike Gunderloy spent in January 1987 to print and mail his zine review periodical Factsheet Five. The issue featured 600 reviews of fanzines and went out to 500 subscribers.
2012
Year that the Zine Pavilion—an exhibit showcasing zines from across North America and educating librarians on how they can start their own zine collections—first appeared at an American Library Association Annual Conference.
5,000
Maximum number of copies circulated in order to properly classify a publication as a zine, according to the University of Texas Libraries. In practice, many zines barely reach 1,000 copies.
3
Things needed to create your own zine: paper, something to write with, and a photocopier, according to writer Elizabeth O’Brien.