Skip to main content

Researching WWII American Death Records and Burial Sites For Novice New York Genealogists: Getting Started

An introduction to the genealogical resources available when researching WWII veteran casualties and burials

Getting Started

This LibGuide introduces resources for researching WWII American Death Records and Burial Sites. This guide brings together diverse genealogical resources: relevant databases and published how-tos and histories within the New York Public Library's collection; national repositories and their collections; and national cemetery and memorial institutions. This guide highlights primary and secondary records that may be used in locating the grave, cemetery, and/or date and location of death of a veteran ancestor or person of interest.

 

This LibGuide is designed for individuals in the New York City area with a novice understanding of genealogy. Created by Kristen L. Watson for INFO 697 : Genealogy & Local History.

Guides

These research guides and books lay out components of utilizing military records in genealogical research.

 

World War I & World War II U.S. Veteran Research

by David Allen Lambert, Chief Genealogist, American Ancestors

https://www.americanancestors.org/education/learning-resources/read/world-war-research

In this comprehensive Genealogy Research Guide, Lambert lays out key concepts and resources for researching veterans of the First and Second World Wars. Many of Lambert’s resources also appear within this guide.

 

Research A Veteran: How To Locate Someone Who Fought In World War II 

by The National World War II Museum, New Orleans

https://www.nationalww2museum.org/war/research-veteran

Users may request a free printed guide from the National World War II Museum detailing some of the types of veteran military records available, where they are located and how to request them. This guide is intended to assist veterans and their families request Official Military Personnel Files (OMPF) from the National Personnel Records Center (NPRC) in St. Louis, Missouri.

 

Available from NYPL

Histories

These books and factsheets provide background histories on National Cemeteries.

 

History and Development of the National Cemetery Administration

https://www.cem.va.gov/cem/docs/factsheets/history.pdf

This factsheet from the Department of Federal Affairs details the history of America’s National Cemeteries, from their creation during the Civil War until the date of the factsheet’s last update in 2015.

 

Available from NYPL

Crowd-Sourced Databases and Forums

These databases are populated with user submissions and connect users to grave marker information, cemetery locations, and living veterans.

 

Find A Grave

https://www.findagrave.com/

Crowd-sourced database for grave marker inscriptions, locations, and photographs. Includes interactive memorial features.

 

New York Gravestones

https://newyorkgravestones.org/

New-York-specific, crowd-sourced database for grave marker photographs, inscriptions, and locations.

 

Interment.net

http://www.interment.net/Default.htm

Searchable international cemetery transcriptions.

 

The Seeker: Military Search Forum

www.the-seeker.com/military.htm

While it may seem like a long-shot, oral-history accounts of crew members and unit comrades can offer unexpected insights into the lives and deaths of veteran ancestors. The Seeker forum connects veterans and their descendants.