Skip to main content

Resources for Teens Transnationally Adopted from Asia: Evaluating Sources

Evaluating Sources

While going through this guide, we are sure a few questions have come up! Some of those questions may relate to how we determined which resources to provide for you. Evaluating sources is an important part of any kind of research, but it can also be the most difficult part of research. The resources one selects will inform the quality and findings of the research. That said, assessing the credibility of resources can be challenging. Digitization has further complicated this process as the Internet now provides users with LOTS of access to both credible and non-credible resources, often pairing the two beside each other without providing any indication of which one is which. It can be very frustrating. Especially for users unfamiliar with conducting their own research or users embarking on personal research such as adoptees, the digital landscape and its many resources can be overwhelming to navigate.

This section of the guide hopes to provide you with information on how to evaluate resources and critically assess what sources would be useful to a user, like an adoptee, trying to conduct research of their own. Like many GLAM institutions (galleries, libraries, archives, and museums)—particularly academic libraries—we promote the Association of College & Research Library's (ACRL) framework for evaluating sources as it tends to cover most approaches users take in conducting research. (In fact, it's the framework we used to create this guide for you!) Below, we hope you will find the information you need to apply the ACRL framework to your own research!

Additional Resources

Do You Know All You Should About “News” Feeds, Click Bait, and Credible Sources?

 

The Hub, Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)

 

This article provides helpful context on the issue of misinformation as well as guidance on how teenage and young adult users can develop digital literacy skills. These guidelines can be applied to any research done online.


Evaluating Resources

Berkeley Library, University of California

This brief guide provides a brief checklist of considerations for evaluating sources. Additional resources like databases are also provided within the guide to help users investigate sources.


Navigating Digital Information

Crash Course

Narrated by author John Green, this video series provides helpful information for evaluating different kinds of digital sources and media for credibility and meaning. Each video in the series provides a different approach to understanding and interpreting the meaning and purposes behind digital sources. This is a useful resource for researchers at all levels trying to navigate the web.

Join the Conversation!

The ACRL Framework

Graphic showing a grey flower-shape with each petal stating a different piece of the ACRL framework. The central circle in the middle of the flower shape is white with a black outline. The text within the shape says Information Literacy Framework. The background of the graphic is red with a black frame. Two animated red arrows loop around and point at the central flower shape.

The ACRL Framework or The Framework for Higher Education is essentially a guide developed by academic librarians and their partners in higher education for navigating information literacy. It consists of a cluster of interconnected core concepts which were developed with flexibility in mind. You can mix and match different ideas from different frames to suit your individual information needs and concerns. The Framework consists of six frames, each representative of concepts that are central to information literacy and knowledge creation. The six concepts outlined by the ACRL Framework are as follows:

Rather than provide specific rules of practice, this framework offers several guidelines for questioning sources that users can adapt and apply to their research. Developing information literacy skills and practices that encourage both learning and branching out on personal inquiries are at the heart of this framework. The flexibility of the framework paired with its focus on information literacy makes it a user-friendly guide for researchers of all ages embarking on different quests. We hope you find it a useful guide on your own quests!

Reference

Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL). (2016, January 11).  Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education. http://www.ala.org/acrl/standards/ ilframework.

Image created by your friendly librarian Kelli Hayes :)

Thesaurus

Confused about of the terms or words you have come across in this guide? Check out our glossary where we have linked you directly to the definitions for some of these confusing words!  On this tab, you will find definitions for words related to digital literacy. On the Adoption Terms tab, you will find information about words related to adoption. Knowing what a word means can help you better understand what you are reading!

 


Digital Learning Glossary of Terms

State of New Jersey Department of Education

The NJ Department of Education created a very comprehensive guide of digital literacy terms! We recommend you check this resource out if you are uncertain about any terminology related to digital literacy. There is even a PDF version of the guide available for free download!


Adoption Definitions & Terms

Adoption Network 

Find more information about the terminology used in the adoption and foster care processes. Additional adoption and adoptee resources can also be found.

Essential Adoption Terminology

AdoptTogether

Provides information on adoption and adoptee terminology, with emphasis placed on defining legal terminology. 

 

What Does That Mean? Terminology in International Adoption

Nancy S., Adopt Family Connections

Provides an extensive list of foster care, sponsorship, adoption, and adoptee terminology, with emphasis placed on legal terminology and adoption documents.