Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About this LibGuide
Radical puppetry is puppet based art for a political cause or social movement. This LibGuide focuses on the radicals puppeteer troupes that sprung from movements of the 1960s in the United States and founded their artistic practice in principles of social justice and counter-hegemonic resistance. The puppets are often larger than life and made through paper mache with cheap found materials. This LibGuide provides physical and digital resources coming from both academic and community repositories. Beyond the materials listed in this guide, below you will find other journals to continue your research.
Journal of Alternative Community and Media
The journal aims to highlight and promote the study of alternative and community media and communication, which includes citizens′ media, participatory media, activist and radical media and the broader forms of communication that these groups might undertake. The Journal locates this scholarship within the media and cultural research disciplines.
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
Via ScienceDirect Database
The 2nd edition of Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace and Conflict provides timely and useful information about antagonism and reconciliation in all contexts of public and personal life. Building on the highly-regarded 1st edition (1999), and publishing at a time of seemingly inexorably increasing conflict and violent behaviour the world over, the Encyclopedia is an essential reference for students and scholars working in the field of peace and conflict resolution studies, and for those seeking to explore alternatives to violence and share visions and strategies for social justice and social change. Covering topics as diverse as Arms Control, Peace Movements, Child Abuse, Folklore, Terrorism and Political Assassinations, the Encyclopedia comprehensively addresses an extensive information area in 225 multi-disciplinary, cross-referenced and authoritatively authored articles.
International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest
This definitive 8-volume reference is a comprehensive print and electronic resource covering the history of protest and revolution over the past 500 years – throughout the modern era of mass movements. From the rebellion against the Peasant's Revolt in Germany to the Taiping Uprising in China, and from the Enlightenment-inspired revolutions in Europe and America to the anti-colonial revolts of Pancho Villa and the Mau Mau, it covers every major revolution that has altered societies or changed the course of history on a local, regional, national, and international scale. It presents major uprisings and protest movements, and the ideas, ideologies and activists that propelled them, chronicles the manner in which they unfolded, traces their roots, goals, tactics, and influence, and evaluates their successes and failures. No other reference examines in such detail or with such breadth the revolts and popular uprisings, large and small, that have transformed our world.
thnic NewsWatch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature. A ground-breaking resource from the beginning, Ethnic NewsWatch remains the only multi-cultural and multi-ethnic database of current periodicals. It contains a sterling collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada, often being the only online source of these publications. The publications include scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as important grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses themselves and in full-text. Ethnic NewsWatch provides a broad and deep, dynamic collection of more than two million full-text articles from 390 publications, from 1970 forward.
Peace Review: A Journal of Social Justice
Via University of San Francisco
Peace Review is a quarterly, multidisciplinary, transnational journal of research and analysis, focusing on the current issues and controversies that underlie the promotion of a more peaceful world. Social progress requires, among other things, sustained intellectual work, which should be pragmatic as well as analytical. The results of that work should be ingrained into everyday culture and political discourse. We define peace research very broadly to include peace, human rights, development, ecology, culture, and related issues. The task of the journal is to present the results of this research and thinking in short, accessible and substantive essays.
Radical Puppets Image Gallery
Browse Radical Puppeteer Communities
The Puppeteers' Cooperative
The Puppeteers' Cooperative is a group of artists and puppeteers working in cities around the nation to create giant puppet parades, pageants, and ceremonies of celebration and complaint, using simple materials and movements to build community cardboard extravaganzas. We have worked with groups around the US and Canada, from Nova Scotia in the North to Florida in the South, and with festivals including the Atlanta Arts Festival and the Bumbershoot Festival of Seattle, creating semi-instantaneous pageants, art installations, and parades.
Puppeteers of America
Puppeteers of America is a national non-profit organization founded in 1937 to provide information, encourage performances, and build a community of people who celebrate puppet theatre.
Puppeteers of America has produced over 160 national and regional festivals to celebrate and share the art of puppetry. The organization publishes the quarterly magazine, The Puppetry Journal. Founded in 1949, The Puppetry Journal provides a continuing chronicle of contemporary puppetry.
Bread and Puppet Theater
The Bread and Puppet Theater was founded in 1963 by Peter Schumann on New York City's Lower East Side. Besides rod-puppet and hand puppet shows for children, the concerns of the first productions were rents, rats, police, and other problems of the neighborhood.
Heart of the Beast
To be puppeteers in the Heart of the Beast…
…is to find ourselves in the great world Beast made of families, races, ages, sexes, classes, corporations and nations, people, (and creatures!) all different, working out a way to live together.
…is to work puppets. To hold life in our hands, to sense how we are all like puppets—worked by instincts, voices, and forces above us and below us.
…is to tell the story of people who live in the heart of the beast—as courageous and resourceful as they really are.
Wise Fool New Mexico
A Brave Space where we expand possibility, walk tall, raise voices, and Lift Each Other Up! It is Wise Fool New Mexico's mission to ignite imagination, build community, and promote social justice through performances and hands-on experiences in the arts of circus, puppetry, and theatre.
Resources consulted for this LibGuide
"Arts and Activism Guide" Washington Peace Center. 2014. https://washingtonpeacecenter.org/node/5382
- Provides information on local organizations, regular events, artist collectives, books, and resources. Their selection of resources was very useful in creating this LibGuide.
Klein, M. (2009). Raising hands: Ritualizing leadership for democratic decision-making and action (Doctoral dissertation). University of St. Thomas.
- This dissertation was consulted for its vast compilation of resources on radical puppetry and social change theory.
Winslow, Lulu. "Puppets and Protest: Street Theater, Art, and Vigil in the 21st Century" Whole Earth. Fall 2002, Issue 109, p53. 4p. Retrieved from Academic Search Premier Database
- Includes a Puppetista's Manifesto, stories of resistance, and a list of resources. Their selection of resources was very useful in creating this LibGuide.