Skip to main content

Researching Genealogy & Local History in the Bronx's "Little Italy": Institutional Resources

The Bronx County Historical Society

The BCHS Research Library holds the Bronx County Archives, which "contain original documents, manuscripts, books, maps and city directories going back to pre-Civil War days, covering not only Bronx history but also the history of New York City and Westchester County. The Bronx County Archives is located next door to the Research Library building. The Research Library and Archives also boast an enormous collection of 19th and early 20th century photographs, prints and postcards of The Bronx. The historic images include 75,000 photographs and slides, 4,000 glass negatives and 1,500 postcards and stereocards."

  • Use of the Research Library is by appointment only on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 8:30AM to 3:30PM.
    • (Email librarian@bronxhistoricalsociety.org or call 718.881.8900 x 105.)
  • General research work at the library is $10 per person, per day. Students and BCHS members do not have to pay a fee.
  • Located at 3309 Bainbridge Avenue, Bronx NY, 10467
Loading ...

Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy

The Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy collects publications documenting American history on the national, state, and local levels, including extensive holdings on New York City history. The Division has a renowned collection of family histories and other genealogical collections, with a particular focus on the New York region. Included in the collections are published works from the New York Genealogical and Biographical Society library, photographs, vertical files, postcards, and other visual ephemera.

  • Some resources are available in-person that are not available online
  • Located within the Stephen A. Schwarzman Building at 476 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10018, on the first floor in room 121
  • Regular hours are held Monday through Saturday and are listed on the library's website

To learn more about what is available on-site at the Milstein Division, visit the Library's guide to conducting research

(Source: Irma and Paul Milstein Division of United States History, Local History and Genealogy, The New York Public Library. "New York City directory" The New York Public Library Digital Collections. 1912. http://digitalcollections.nypl.org/items/1d0e74d0-7d15-0134-4d88-00505686a51c)

The New York Historical Society holds print collections of books, pamphlets, maps, atlases, newspapers, and more. It also holds photographs, ephemera, family papers, business records, and other materials that may help bring texture to your research.

  • Located at 170 Central Park West at Richard Gilder Way (77th Street), New York, NY, 10024
  • For information on conducting research with the New York Historical Society's collection, visit their guide.

The Museum holds over 750,000 objects in its collection, and continues to catalog newly obtained items. The digital collection features over 5,200 images and objects from the Bronx.

  • The Museum's digitized collection can be found online.
  • Located at 1220 Fifth Avenue at 103rd St. and open daily from 10am-6pm

For information on conducting research on-site at the Museum, refer to the Research Policy.

The Municipal Archives preserves historical government records from 1645 onwards. The resources housed within the collections include vital records, directories, court records, photograph collections, and architectural drawings.

Loading ...