LibGuides: Accessibility in Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums: Public Libraries

Small Changes, Big Impact

It may seem overwhelming to begin making your library more accessible—especially if your library has a small budget or if you as an individual don't hold much decision-making power. But accessibility is too important for you to wait for the perfect time to begin. Even small changes can have a big impact. Below are a few ideas to get started—inspired by the IFLA checklist for accessibility in libraries—as well as further resources with even more ideas.

Offer curbside pickup or delivery service, or allow proxy borrowers. Many public libraries have begun offering curbside pickup during the coronavirus pandemic, but consider continuing to offer this service even after regular library service resumes. Home or mail delivery services can also be useful for patrons who are temporarily or permanently homebound. Allowing proxy borrowers to pick up books or materials on someone else's behalf is another possible solution.
Record video tours of your library. This can help make patrons feel more comfortable before going to an unfamiliar library for the first time. Check out these video tours of the Forbes Library for inspiration.
Make sure your signage is clear. Use a large font size on a high contrast background, and eliminate any confusing terminology. Make use of pictures where possible.
Use a microphone during events, and don't cover your mouth while speaking. Even if your library can't afford to install hearing loop technology right now, these small changes can make your events more accessible to patrons with hearing loss.
Include books by authors with disabilities in your displays.
Attend free trainings to increase your knowledge of disability and accessibility. See the section on Staff Training for more information.
Connect with local disability advocacy groups. Invite representatives from these groups into conversations on accessibility in your library, and listen to what changes they'd like you to make.

Further resources

Access to libraries for persons with disabilities: Checklist
This International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions checklist summarizes ways you can make your public library more accessible in terms of physical access, media formats, and service and communication. A special emphasis is placed on low-cost, high-impact changes that you can implement at your branch, even without a tremendous amount of economic resources.
Management: What You Need to Know
This short guide provides an overview of how the Americans with Disabilities Act and the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 apply to libraries. It also contains some quick tips and resources for promoting accessibility in your library.
Prioritizing Accessibility and Disability Inclusion at Your Library
This article features suggestions for getting started with accessibility work in the library space, including suggestions for website accessibility, assistive software to look into, and more.
Libraries for All: Expanding Services to People with Disabilities
This article is intended to help libraries develop strategies for serving patrons with disabilities. Suggestions include "Define Your Goals," "Train Your Staff," "Assess the Environment," and "Build Relationships."

ALA Policies on Disability and Accessibility

Library Services for People with Disabilities Policy
This policy was written by the Americans with Disabilities Act Assembly, a representational group administered by a division of ALA, and unanimously approved by the ALA Council in 2001. It lays out ALA's commitment to equitable access, with sections on disability law, library services, facilities, collections, assistive technologies, and employment.
Services to People with Disabilities: An Interpretation of the Library Bill of Rights
Adopted in 2009 by the ALA Council, this explanation of the Library Bill of Rights articles is focused on how the articles apply to services to patrons with disabilities.

Disability and Policing in Public Libraries

Chona Kasinger for Disabled and Here. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

Public libraries need to think critically about the ways police presence can put patrons with disabilities at increased risk, particularly Black and Brown patrons with disabilities. These resources introduce several critiques of the relationship between public libraries and the police, as well as an introduction to the intersection of disability and race in encounters with police. A guide to alternatives to calling the police, organized by city and situation, is also provided. We encourage you to get familiar with alternatives to policing in your area.

No Holds Barred: Policing and Security in the Public Library
Ben Robinson discusses and problematizes several conventional approaches to security and policing in libraries. He argues that such approaches encourage library staff to work closely with police and security guards with little thought given to the implications of this on patrons who are Black, Indigenous, or people of color, people experiencing mental illness, and people from other communities that have been marginalized, including people with disabilities; for libraries to be inclusive and safe spaces, Robinson argues that this relationship with policing must be addressed.
Black, Disabled and at Risk: The Overlooked Problem of Police Violence Against Americans with Disabilities
This article provides an introduction to the often deadly intersection of anti-Black racism, disability, and policing, as well as some of the advocacy work currently being done by racial equality and disability rights activists. Content warning: this article contains descriptions of police brutality.
Understanding the Policing of Black, Disabled Bodies
Vilissa Thompson unpacks the relationship between racism and ableism in policing in the United States, including the ways in which disability has been portrayed as a threat to law enforcement.
What Hearing Police Sirens Means to Me as a Black Disabled Man
Neal Carter describes his experience living as a Black man with a disability in the United States. He writes, "I still experience immediate mental distress whenever I hear any police sirens in public or in a news broadcast." Content warning: this article contains descriptions of police violence.
It’s not enough to say Black Lives Matter — libraries must divest from the police
This Medium post from the Library Freedom Project calls on libraries to divest from police (and police surveillance) in order to support BIPOC patrons and staff and preserve the values of librarianship. It includes a list of divestment resources that apply the work of Black leaders in the abolitionist movement to the library field.
Rethinking Police Presence
Curious about what it would look like to reimagine the relationship between public libraries and law enforcement? In this American Libraries Magazine article, Cass Balzer explores how libraries have begun divesting from their local police departments. Strategies discussed include using peer navigators trained in de-escalation instead of calling the police, terminating relationships with private security firms, and training staff on relationship building and de-escalation techniques. The article also highlights the work of individual library staff members who have made personal pledges to not call the police on patrons, regardless of whether their library system as a whole has divested from law enforcement.
Alternatives to Policing in Libraries
This archive of an October, 22 2019 #critlib Twitter chat on the subject of libraries and policing includes resources, questions, and discussion from a critical librarianship perspective. The Twitter chat includes reflections on the criminalization of disability and health-related emergencies in the library space.
Don't Call The Police: Community-based alternatives to police in your city
This online directory provides quick access to resources that provide emergency or crisis intervention services in cities across the United States as alternatives to calling law enforcement.

Additional Reading

Interested in learning more? These suggested resources cover everything from a theoretical lens on the obligations of modern public libraries to the practical side of writing — and maintaining — a plan for making your library more accessible and inclusive.

Accessibility for Persons with Disabilities and the Inclusive Future of Libraries by Brian Wentz (Volume Editor); Paul T. Jaeger (Volume Editor); John Carlo Bertot (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 9781785606526
Publication Date: 2015-12-14
This edited volume considers disability, inclusion, and accessibility in the library, with special attention paid to how technological advances can help — and hinder — libraries' accessibility efforts.
Planning for Library Services to People with Disabilities by Rhea Joyce Rubin
ISBN: 9780838981689
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
This planning process guide, which works in conjunction with your existing library plan, helps public libraries ensure that their plans are inclusive and equitable and in line with ADA requirements. It contains guidelines for developing priorities and objectives that will support patrons with disabilities and guarantee service is equally available to all patrons.
Creating Inclusive Library Environments by Michelle Kowalsky; John Woodruff
ISBN: 9780838914854
Publication Date: 2016-10-31
With the goal of helping libraries create and maintain inclusivity, this planning guide covers a number of topics, including what makes spaces truly accessible, techniques for writing clear policies and procedures, advice for collaborating with community groups, and making vendor-purchased products accessible.

Public Libraries and Access for Children with Disabilities and Their Families: A Proposed Inclusive Library Model
This paper reports on an investigation of factors influencing access to public libraries for children with disabilities and their families from the perspective of the public librarian. An in-depth study of 18 public librarians who focus on providing access to public libraries for children with disabilities was undertaken. Librarians from the United States and Canada took part in both a one-on-one interview and a questionnaire. Based on the research findings, a model for inclusive public libraries is proposed. Though this paper was based on research conducted in Australia, its suggestions are applicable for libraries beyond Australian borders.

Dana Chan for Disabled And Here. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.

Accessible Programming Case Studies

Public libraries across the United States and beyond have introduced innovative programs and solutions to make their offerings more accessible and inclusive. Here are just a few examples of inclusive programming at public libraries to inspire programs at your own library.

Tulsa City-County Library’s Sensory Storytimes
Since 2012, TCCL has offered Sensory Storytimes in response to requests from families to create more inclusive programming for young children. These storytimes incorporate books, songs, movement and therapeutic activities. In developing the Sensory Storytime program, TCCL partnered with the Autism Center of Tulsa and other community organizations. Following a successful pilot period, the Sensory Storytimes have since expanded to multiple library branches across Tulsa.
AnyAbility: creating a library service model for adults with disabilities
This journal article discusses AnyThink Libraries, a public library system in Colorado that hosts a program series called AnyAbility for adults with cognitive and intellectual disabilities. AnyAbility programs cover everything from gardening to improv to book clubs; after the programs are over, participants have time to socialize and eat lunch to build community and comfort in library spaces. Through working with participants directly and tailoring the programming to their interests, AnyThink has been able to make sure its events are age-appropriate and enriching, in line with their mission to "treat all customers as capable and competent people."
Children's Audiobook Recording at Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh’s Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped
The Carnegie Library for the Blind and Physically Handicapped (LBPH) has long made use of volunteers to record audiobooks for patrons who are blind, visually impaired, or have other print disabilities. To record children's books, the library has partnered with high school students at the Barack Obama Academy of International Studies. Each week, the students record, monitor, and edit children's audiobooks in English and Spanish, learning recording skills while expanding the library's ability to offer a variety of audiobooks to its youngest patrons.

Funding Resources

Money is tight, and finding the budget to make accessibility-related improvements to your space, attend trainings, or develop new programming can be tough. Fortunately, there are grants and funding options specifically for programs and research aimed at increasing inclusivity, as well as more general grants that you can apply for. In addition to the resources listed below, consider reaching out to local groups that might be interested in sponsoring a project: local businesses and local service clubs like Kiwanis Club or Rotary Club may be able to donate supplies or funds.

Introduction to Funding Accessibility Projects: In Search of the Money Tree
A non-library-specific introduction to thinking through funding options for projects aimed at increasing accessibility. This article also includes links to several databases of grant opportunities.
Diversity Research Grant
Sponsored by the ALA Office for Diversity, Literacy, and Outreach Services, this grant offers a one-time $2,500 award to support a yearlong original research project related to equity, diversity, and inclusion in library and information science.
National Leadership Grants for Libraries
This grant supports projects that "enhance the quality of library and archive services nationwide by advancing theory and practice." Grant amounts range from $100,000 for planning grants to $1,000,000 for project grants.
Accelerating Promising Practices for Small Libraries
This $10,000-$50,000 grant supports small and rural libraries working on topics related to digital inclusion and other community-focused projects.
Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program
This program is aimed at developing a diverse workforce of librarians; project proposals can address training and professional development, developing library leaders, and recruiting and educating new professionals. Grants range from $100,000 for planning grants to $1,000,000 for project grants.
Grants to States
The largest federal funding source for U.S. libraries, the Grants to States program distributes over $150 million to the State Library Administrative Agencies each year. Over the past few years, around 10% of these grant funds have supported services for patrons with disabilities.

Staff Training

No matter how physically or digitally accessible your library is, it won't be a welcoming space for all patrons if librarians and other staff aren't knowledgeable about disability and inclusivity. The following trainings and resources are aimed at helping librarians increase their awareness and knowledge of disability and accessibility in the library and beyond. Alongside other diversity trainings, these professional development programs can help librarians become aware of their own unconscious biases and overcome barriers to both providing inclusive service to patrons and creating an inclusive workplace environment for all staff.

ADA Training
The ADA National Network offers a training symposium on disability related laws, including the Americans with Disabilities Act, as well as in-person training events and free podcasts, webinars, and toolkits.
Library Accessibility Toolkits
Provided by the Association of Specialized, Government, and Cooperative Library Agencies, a defunct division of the American Library Association, this collection of 18 toolkits provides overviews, hardware and software solutions, tips, and resources for providing equitable access to patrons with disabilities.
Project ENABLE
These free training modules are aimed at helping public, academic, and school librarians foster accessible and non-discriminatory library environments. Project ENABLE also provides a resource database of webinars, articles, and videos. The video below contains more information.

References

Abrams, A. (2020, June 25). Black, Disabled, and at Risk: The Overlooked Problem of Police Violence Against American with Disabilities. Time. https://time.com/5857438/police-violence-black-disabled/

Association of Specialized, Government, and Cooperative Library Agencies. Management: What You Need to Know. ASGCLA. http://www.ala.org/asgcla/resources/tipsheets/management

Balzer, C. (2020, July 8). Rethinking Police Presence. American Libraries. https://americanlibrariesmagazine.org/2020/07/08/rethinking-police-presence/

Carter, N. (2020, June 26). What Hearing Police Sirens Means to Me as a Black Disabled Man. Greatist. https://greatist.com/live/what-hearing-police-sirens-means-to-me-as-a-black-disabled-man

Grassi, R. (2017, January 17). Libraries for All: Expanding Services to People with Disabilities. Illinois Library Association. https://www.ila.org/publications/ila-reporter/article/55/libraries-for-all-expanding-services-to-people-with-disabilities

Irvall, B., & Skat Nielsen, G. (2005). Access to libraries for persons with disabilities - CHECKLIST. IFLA Professional Reports. https://www.ifla.org/files/assets/hq/publications/professional-report/89.pdf

Library Freedom Project. (2020, June 9). It’s not enough to say Black Lives Matter — libraries must divest from the police. Medium. https://libraryfreedom.medium.com/its-not-enough-to-say-black-lives-matter-libraries-must-divest-from-the-police-2ab4adea58f1

Love, K. (2018, May 14). Pittsburgh Teens Record Thousands of Audiobooks For the Blind and Visually Impaired. WESA. https://www.wesa.fm/education/2018-05-14/pittsburgh-teens-record-thousands-of-audiobooks-for-the-blind-and-visually-impaired

McGowan, S., Martinez, H., & Marcilla, M. (2018, September 28). AnyAbility: creating a library service model for adults with disabilities. Reference Services Review. https://www-emerald-com.ezproxy.pratt.edu/insight/content/doi/10.1108/RSR-03-2018-0034/full/html

Robinson, B. (2019, December 11). No Holds Barred: Policing and Security in the Public Library. In the Library With the Lead Pipe. http://www.inthelibrarywiththeleadpipe.org/2019/no-holds-barred/

Thompson, V. (2021, February 10). Understanding the Policing of Black, Disabled Bodies. Center for American Progress. https://www.americanprogress.org/issues/disability/news/2021/02/10/495668/understanding-policing-black-disabled-bodies/

Tulsa City-County Library. (2013). Transforming Library Storytimes for Children with Sensory Integration Challenges. Urban Libraries Council. https://www.urbanlibraries.org/innovations/transforming-library-storytimes-for-children-with-sensory-integration-challenges

WebJunction. (2019, July 18). Prioritizing Accessibility and Disability Inclusion at Your Library. WebJunction: OCLC.org. https://www.webjunction.org/news/webjunction/prioritizing-accessibility.html

Accessibility in Galleries, Libraries, Archives, and Museums: Public Libraries

Introduction to Accessibility in Public Libraries