Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Comics for Classrooms: Advocacy and Resources

Title

Supplies and Resources

How Comics Transform Student Learning

Why Comics Belong in Classrooms

Annotated Bibliography

American English for English Language Teachers Around the World

American English | For English Language Teachers Around the World. (n.d.). Retrieved November 23, 2018, from https://americanenglish.state.gov/

American English is a resource center for teaching and learning about American English language and culture. This website provides a variety of engaging materials and resources for teachers' professional development and for students in the classroom. Both teachers and students will find new ways to practice English and learn more about the United States. The Office of English Language Programs in Washington, D.C. provides academic expertise, advisory and consultative assistance, as well as materials and resources worldwide. All programs are implemented by Regional English Language Officers (RELOs) at American Embassies or Consulates. Programs and resources administered through their office include English materials, distance education programs, and teacher training workshops. For more information or to receive these resources in your area, please contact your RELO. 

Comics in Education

Comics in Education. (n.d.). Retrieved November 27, 2018, from https://www.comicsineducation.com/​

Comics in Education is devoted to examining the use of visual narrative in the K-12 classroom and beyond. Although schools have seen a rise in the use of graphic novels in recent years, this use is often limited to supporting reluctant or developing readers. The focus of Comics in Education is on showing that understanding, decoding, and making meaning of visual narrative has never been more important than it is today for learners of all ages and abilities. 

Diamond Bookshelf

Diamond Bookshelf | The Graphic Novel Resource for Educators and Librarians. Accessed November 27, 2018. http://diamondbookshelf.com/Home/1/1/20/163​.

Graphic Novels have a lot to offer as literature, educational tools, entertainment and more! Whether you are a teacher, educator, or reading specialist seeking to incorporate comics and graphic novels into the classroom; or a librarian or media specialist looking for assistance with graphic novel collection development, our website's mission is to provide you with comprehensive information on the latest graphic novels, interviews with creators and professionals like you, along with useful tools such as reviews, lesson plans, bestsellers and more.

 

 

 

 
 

Paths to Literacy

Accessible Comics for the Blind (2018). Retrieved November 27, 2018, from http://www.pathstoliteracy.org/resources/accessible-comics-blind

Comics Empower is an online comic book shop that makes comics accessible to individuals who are blind or visually impaired through audio format.  Created by Guy Hasson, the comics are translated to audio in a way that gives the listeners the feeling of reading a comic book, with descriptions that do not stop the flow of the story.

Queer Comics Database

Queer Comics Database | Discover Your Next Queer Read. (2018). Retrieved November 27, 2018, from http://queercomicsdatabase.com/

Our mission is to facilitate access to comics that contain queer representation. Our focus is on the content of the work, rather than on the creators. Whether a work is “own voices” is beyond the scope of this site. If you are looking for a database of queer-identified creators, we recommend the Queer Cartoonists Database.

School Library Journal

School Library Journal. (n.d.). Retrieved November 23, 2018, from https://www.slj.com/

School Library Journal is the premiere publication for librarians and information specialists who work with children and teens. A source of quality journalism and reviews for more than 60 years, SLJ produces award-winning features and news coverage on: literacy, best practices, technology, education policy and other issues of interest to the school library and greater educator community. We evaluate a broad range of resources, from books and digital content to databases, in 6000+ reviews published annually.

Teaching Books

Teaching Books. Accessed November 27, 2018. https://www.teachingbooks.net/.

Their mission is to equitably give all readers insights and opportunities that deepen their understanding and joy of the books they are reading. With a growing collection of instructional materials about children and young adult books and authors, readers will be able to identify exceptional books that reflect diverse cultural experiences, interests, and ability levels, obtain resources to pair with book titles that further reading enjoyment, contextual knowledge, and educational relevance, and share resources. TeachingBooks.net offers every reader the power to enrich their relationship to the books they are reading.

 
 

Teaching Ideas

Teaching Ideas. (n.d.). Retrieved November 23, 2018, from http://teachingideas.co.uk/

Teaching Ideas contains thousands of free classroom activity ideas, downloadable resources, display photos and other educational content that teachers can use with their children. The content on this site is mainly suitable for teachers of primary-age children (i.e. ages 5 to 11). However, there are many ideas and resources which can be used with younger and older students. Activities/resources are labeled with suitable age ranges, but these are primarily to give guidance. You may use the ideas, print / photocopy resources, and download files from the site for use within your own classrooms, provided that you agree not to change them or delete any copyright or proprietary notices from the materials. Parents and tutors are also welcome to use them with their own children should they wish to do so. 

TOON Books

TOON Books | Easy-to-Read Comics. Accessed November 27, 2018. http://www.toon-books.com/why-comics.html.

TOON Books are the first high-quality comics designed for children ages three and up. Each book in the collection is just right for reading to the youngest child. Perhaps more remarkably, this is the first collection ever designed to offer early readers comics they can read themselves. Each TOON book has been vetted by educators to ensure that the language and the narratives will nurture young minds. Our books feature original stories and characters created by veteran children’s book authors, renowned cartoonists and new talents, all applying their extraordinary skills to fascinate young children with tales that will welcome them to the magic of reading.

Tumble Book Cloud

Tumble Book Cloud.  (2018). Retrieved November 27, 2018.  www.tumblebookcloud.com/home.aspx

TumbleBookCloud is an online database of eBooks and educator resources perfect for your middle school, high school, or public library. TBC has a robust selection of Graphic Novels, Enhanced Novels, eBooks, classic literature, National Geographic videos, educator resources, and audiobooks. The collection is available online around the clock. No downloads, no waiting! If you can access the internet, you can be reading, watching, or listening to fantastic content. 

This database is available remotely through the New York Public Library, and they offer free trials of 30 days.

Worksheets and Templates

Here are some PDF and downloadable comic templates and worksheets:

Free Downloadable Comic Templates

Benny and Penny Comic Book Activity Worksheet PDF (grades K-2)

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund

Comic Book Legal Defense Fund is a non-profit organization dedicated to the protection of the First Amendment rights of the comics art form and its community of retailers, creators, publishers, librarians, and readers. The CBLDF provides legal referrals, representation, advice, assistance, and education in furtherance of these goals.