Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Restorative Justice Resources for Teachers in NYC

A collection of resources for NYC schoolteachers looking to learn about and implement Restorative Justice practices in their classrooms.

Research at NYPL

Articles Available through NYPL

Below is a sampling of scholarly articles that are accessible through NYPL. To access each, click the link and enter your NYPL barcode and PIN when prompted.

 

Bishop, D., Feld, B., & Bazemore, G. (2011-12-23). Restoration, Shame, and the Future of Restorative Practice in U.S. Juvenile Justice. In The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Retrieved 27 Nov. 2019, from https://www-oxfordhandbooks-com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/view/10.1093/oxfordhb/9780195385106.001.0001/oxfordhb-9780195385106-e-28?rskey=h5cTNd&result=6

 

This article, from the Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice, is written by Gordon Bazemore, one of the better-known researchers on restorative justice for youth populations. The text concerns the impact of Australian scholar John Braithwaite's reintegrative shaming theory on restorative justice research in the North American context during the mid- to late 1990s. As an entry in the Oxford handbook, the text was selected as a representative example of scholarship on restorative justice within the context of juvenile criminal justice.

 

Fronius, T., Darling-Hammond, S., Persson, H., Guckenburg, S., Hurley, N., Petrosino, A., & WestEd Justice and Prevention Research Center. (2019). Restorative Justice in U.S. Schools: An Updated Research Review. WestEd. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=ED595733&site=ehost-live 

 

Building on a literature review project begun in 2016, this updated version presents information gathered from a literature and research review on restorative justice in U.S. schools. The article includes sections on the origins and theory of RJ in schools, implementation tips, the issue of bullying (one of the most common topics for RJ in schools) and an overview of research conducted. 

 

Gonzales, T., Etow, A., and De La Vega, C. Health Equity, School Discipline Reform, and Restorative Justice. (2019). Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics, 47, 47–50. Retrieved 27 Nov 2019, from https://doi-org.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/10.1177/1073110519857316

 

Examining the impact of school discipline on student health, which is disproportionately severe for students in marginalized communities, this article proposes a restorative justice approach as a means of counteracting the negative effects of exclusionary school discipline (ESD). 

 

Petersilia, J., Reitz, K., Sherman, L., & Strang, H. (2012-04-06). Restorative Justice as Evidence-Based Sentencing. In The Oxford Handbook of Sentencing and Corrections.  Oxford: Oxford University Press. Retrieved 27 Nov. 2019, from https://www-oxfordhandbooks-com.i.ezproxy.nypl.org/view/10.1093/oxfordhb/9780199730148.001.0001/oxfordhb-9780199730148-e-9?rskey=h5cTNd&result=3

 

This article analyzes the impact of "twenty years of restorative justice (RJ) innovations" as of 2011, particularly focusing on the important concept of the restorative justice conference, which brings together victims, offenders, and affected communities to decide how the offender should answer for their crime. The article is a well-rounded introduction to the evidence-based arguments in favor of restorative justice with a focus on the conference. 

Research Available Beyond NYPL

The International Institute for Restorative Practices (IIRP), based in Bethlehem, PA, compiled a collection of important research papers on restorative justice in U.S. schools, including a report from the RAND Corporation with funding from the U.S. Department of Justice Comprehensive School Safety Initiative.