Skip to main content

Rare Books Research at NYPL: Electronic Resources

Electronic Resources

The following is a list of some of the databases that can be of assistance when researching rare books. They can be found under Articles & Databases from the Library’s website. Please keep in mind that not all will be available outside the Library.

 

  • lion icon Accessible only at select Library locations
  • home icon Accessible outside the Library with your NYPL card
  • world icon Free Web resource - available anywhere

 

America's Historical Imprints  lion icon

Search full-text early American books, pamphlets, broadsides, government documents and rare printed materials. Combined search of American Broadsides and Ephemera (1760-1900) and Early American Imprints (1639-1819), including supplements from the Library Company of Philadelphia and the American Antiquarian Societiy. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

American Book Prices Current  lion icon

Contains annual records of books, manuscripts, autographs, maps, and broadsides sold at auction in North America, the United Kingdom, Germany, Holland, Australia, and other locations, for the auction years starting with 1975.

 

American Broadsides and Ephemera  lion icon

Digital collection of broadsides (1820-1900) and ephemera (1760-1900). Includes pamphlets, maps, invitations, menus, campaign literature, annual reports, programs, catalogs, and numerous types of printed matter. A subset database of America's Historical Imprints.  Background information and search tips for this database. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Artemis Primary Sources  home icon

A full-text database that cross-searches Gale's primary source collections, including Eighteenth-Century Collections Online (ECCO), Nineteenth-Century Collections Online (NCCO), and Sabin Americana. *Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Bibliography of American Literature  lion icon

Describes the works of America's most important literary writers from the time of the Revolution to 1930. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Bibliography of Native North Americans  lion icon

Citations to literature about native peoples of North America, including Aleuts; Eskimos or Inuit of Greenland, northern Canada, Alaska, and eastern Siberia; and other native peoples of Canada, the United States, and Mexico north of the northern boundary of Mesoamerica.  **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

Bibliography of the Hebrew Book   lion icon

Complete bibliography of Hebrew, Yiddish, and Ladino printed books, 1469-1960.  **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

Brill Online Bibliographies  home icon

Search seven bibliography eBooks published by Brill: ABIA - Index of South and Southeast Asian Art and Archaeology, Bibliography of Arabic Books Online, Book History Online, Index Islamicus, Index to the Study of Religions, Linguistic Bibliography, and The International Aristotle Bibliography.  **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

Brepols Periodica Online  lion icon

Full text journals in medieval studies, religious studies, classics, history and art history. Individual titles are reflected in the Library catalog and in the Find E-Journals by Title link. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)   lion icon

Provides full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and periodicals published in America from 1639-1800. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)   lion icon

Provides full-text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides, state papers and government publications published in America from 1801-1819. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Early English Books Online (EEBO)  home icon

Provides full text, digital images of every book printed in England, Scotland, and Ireland, and every book in the English language printed abroad, from 1475 to 1700.  **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Early English books Online Text Creation Partnership  lion icon

The University of Michigan, the University of Oxford, the Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR), and ProQuest Information and Learning are engaged in a partnership to create structured SGML/XML text editions for a significant portion of the Short Title Catalog of Early English Books published between 1473 and 1700. ProQuest has already created digital images for nearly 125,000 works, distributed under the title Early English Books Online (EEBO). **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) home icon

Provides full text, digital images of books, pamphlets, broadsides and other materials published in the United Kingdom between 1701-1800. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

 

 

 

English Short Title Catalogue  world icon

Covers material (including books, lists, advertisements, rules, songs, election propaganda, and other ephemera) printed in the English language anywhere in the world, or printed in any language in the British Isles or territories, from 1473 to 1800. It also includes information on library holdings.

 

 

 

 

 

French Royal Acts (Actes royaux français), 1256-1794  home icon

Approximately 16,000 pamphlets, digitized from NYPL's Rare Book Division and offering a wealth of information on the legislative history and governance of France, as well as other aspects of French life.  Contents address the financial and political administration of France proper from the late 13th century to the end of the monarchy, with most documents dating  to the 18th century.  Topics include taxation and tariffs, criminal justice, book printing, and military administration. **Patrons should read the Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy of this resource before searching.**

 

 

 

 

 

 

Illustrated Incunable Short-title Catalogue (Illustrated ISTC), 2nd Ed.  lion icon

Illustrated descriptions for every recorded edition published from movable type from 1450 to 1500.

 

 

 

 

 

 

New York City Digital Collection of Historical Books  world icon

A subset of the Making of America digital library (the University of Michigan site), this collection consists of 335 volumes focusing on New York City, including several editions of the Directory of social and health agencies of New York City. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oxford Bibliographies Online  home icon

A collection of research guides for a wide variety of subjects. Includes topic overviews and annotated bibliographies. **Patrons should read the Oxford Bibliographies Online Privacy Policybefore searching.**

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sabin Americana Digital Archive (1500-1926)  home icon

Digital library of works written or published in the United States, as well as items printed elsewhere, that document the history of the Americas from 1492 to the mid-1800s. Based on Sabin's Bibliotheca Americana.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Shakespeare, Editions and Adaptations  lion icon

Contains eleven major editions from the First Folio of 1623 to the Cambridge edition of 1863-6.

 

Victorian Women Writers Project  world icon

A full-text library of works by British women writers of the nineteenth century.