Untitled (Self Portrait #4), 2011. Sally Mann.
Sally Mann is a Virginia-based artist who has become a figure in the canon of modern photography. Over the decades Mann has created work reflecting on her family, the land, the body, and death. Works from her recent projects employ the wet-plate collodion process including Sally Mann: A Thousand Crossings (The National Gallery of Art), The Flesh and the Spirit, and What Remains.
William Henry Fox Talbot "The Boulevards at Paris". Salted Paper Print. Met Collection.
1000 5th Avenue
New York, NY
The Metropolitan Museum of Art is arguably one of the most famous museums in the world with a massive collection of art and artifacts from all time periods. However, their photograph collection is among the smaller photographs collections. They have primarily collected the more historic processes, such as daguerreotypes and salted paper prints, however they have recently begun collecting more modern prints, such as those by 1970’s color photographer William Eggleston.
Lynn Hyman Butler, "Bowery in March". Cibachrome print. Brooklyn Museum Collection.
200 Eastern Parkway
The Brooklyn Museum is primarily known for the contemporary art collection, which includes a number of photographs. They collect both historical prints as well as those done by more modern artists. The majority of their alternative process prints are the historical ones, however they have a few examples of modern artists working with these processes, including Lynn Hymen Butler pictured above.
Jack Clements "3/20/1886". Tintype. New York Public Library Collection.
476 5th Avenue
New York, NY
The New York Public Library has a historically large photographic collection which focuses heavily on historic prints and alternative processes. The majority of their photography collection features images that depict the city of New York City, which many famous historic photographers documented. Their collection features cyanotypes, salted paper prints, wet-plate collodion processes, and the traditional silver gelatin prints. Their collection is able to be viewed by appointment only, available on their website.
Gertrude Kasebier, "Serbonne". Gum Bichromate Print. George Eastman Museum Collection.
900 East Avenue
The George Eastman Museum was created in honor of the founder of Kodak. Their collection is almost entirely photographs, along with moving images and photographic technology. The museum’s collection largely focuses on the technological side of the photographic and audio/visual fields, so they have many examples of various processes. Above is an example of a gum bichromate print by Gertrude Kasebier.
Samuel J. Thompson, "Erastus Corning". Daguerreotype. Albany Institute of History and Art Collection.
125 Washington Avenue
The Albany Institute of History and Art is one of the only museums that collects art in the state’s capital. Their collection of photographs largely documents the history of New York state. The process of choice for the documentary photographers of the time albumen prints, silver gelatin prints, salted paper prints, and some wet-plate collodion processes. Seen above is an example of a daguerreotype in their collection.