Skip to main content

Trans Stories, Spaces, and Cultural Production: Databases & Journals

Databases

JSTOR: JSTOR is one of the most widely used academic databases and contains article from more than 2,000 journals and provides access to full-text articles and downloadable PDFs. Due to its breadth, JSTOR is a popular resource in the humanities that helps situate user's research within the broader context of interdisciplinary scholarship. However, because transgender studies is, compared to other sub-disciplines within the humanities, a relatively young field, the embargoes on journals are disproportionately restrictive.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses: This database offers abstracts and bibliographic information for over 4 million dissertations and theses from around the world, dating from 1637 to the present day. Searching this database can be a great way to find in depth and current scholarship from a variety of domains that explores trans experiences, spaces and placemaking, and cultural production. Watch the video below to learn how to find scholarship about trans cultural production by adding subjects to your searches.

LGBT Thought and Culture: LGBT Thought and Culture is an invaluable resource for research on LGBT social movements. It collects books, periodicals, and archival materials that "illuminates the lives of lesbians, gays, transgender, and bisexual individuals and the community." Content includes selections from The National Archives in Kew, materials collected by activist and publisher Tracy Baim, the Magnus Hirschfeld and Harry Benjamin collections from the Kinsey Institute, periodicals such as En la Vida and BLACKlines.

Gender Studies Collection: Gender Studies Collection offers access to over 500 e-books, scholarly journals, and magazines, covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.

Journals

TSQ Transgender Studies Quarterly: TSQ: Transgender Studies Quarterly, available onsite at the NYPL, publishes a range of creative research and interdisciplinary work by scholars, artists, and activists that explores the diversity of gender, sex, and sexuality. The journal has featured essays on time, Dostoevsky, and Ojibwee and Plains Cree two-spirit languages, among many other topics.

QED: A Journal in GLBTQ Worldmaking: QED collects a broad spectrum of voices that touch on all aspects of the lives and struggles of people in LGBTQ communities. "With an emphasis on worldmaking praxis, QED welcomes theory, criticism, history, policy analysis, public argument, and creative exhibition, seeking to foster intellectual and activist work through essays, commentaries, interviews, roundtable discussions, and book and event reviews." The essays tend to be comparatively short and more playful and perhaps engaging than typical academic journals, but no less rigorous.

Special journal issues

Many journals with broader focuses in the humanities or in LGBTQ+ studies will occasionally exclusively cover trans practitioners, issues, or theoretical perspectives within their domains. Below are two examples of special journal issues from the fields of feminist studies and architecture:

Hypatia Vol. 24, No. 3, 2009: Transgender Studies and Feminism: Theory, Politics, and Gendered Realities: A journal of feminist philosophy, Hypatia published this special issue focusing on the intersection of trans studies and feminist studies. Authors address topics that are prominent within both fields--such as oppression, regulation of sex, and selfhood--noting the interplay and the specific ways that writers and theorists within each field can draw inspiration from their respective disciplines.

Footprint: Delft Architecture Theory Journal Vol. 11, No. 2, 2017: Trans-Bodies / Queering Spaces: In their introduction, editors Robert Alexander Gorny and Dirk van den Heuvel write, "architecture and urban design are instrumental in the formation of social and political identities," and this special issue of Footprint seeks not only to help reorient "the male-dominated, hetero-normative, and cis-gendered body of architectural knowledge," but also use architectural theory to inform queer and trans theory by discussing "body-space," "shared deterritorialisation," and other concepts that draw from both fields.