Skip to main content

Danh Vo: Take My Breath Away: Themes

Overview

This page contains five themes that are present in Danh Vo's work for the Guggenheim exhibition. Each theme provides a list of resources in various forms: webpages, interactive multimedia, articles from databases, documentaries, YouTube videos, and print books. All resources are available online or with an NYPL library membership. Below is a video that describes how to use JSTOR, the primary database used for this LibGuide. 

How to Use JSTOR: Employing resources while looking at these themes

Unable to display content. Adobe Flash is required.

Vietnamese Diaspora: Danh Vo's Journey to the West

Internet Links

JSTOR (access via NYPL databases) 

https://www.jstor.org/

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides a ton of resources for those interested in art, art history and humanities research. Please consult the video on this page for assistance in using and searching in JSTOR. 

The article below is an example of a great resource about the themes discussed in Danh Vo's artwork that can be found in JSTOR. 

Kanopy (accessed via NYPL databases) 

https://www.kanopy.com/

Kanopy offers a great academic collection of film. The films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. The discovery system also offers a citation generator, commenting capabilities, sharing with people who are also members. 

The Kanopy video above is an episode from Ken Burn's documentary, the Vietnam War. This documentary can be accessed on PBS with commercials, or through NYPL's Kanopy subscription. 

YouTube

YouTube can be a great resource for arts related research, many museums have their own YouTube pages, and will regularly post content. 

The YouTube video above was posted by the Guggenheim, in it Danh Vo discuses his family's flight from Vietnam and how his young life as a refugee shaped his identity as an artist. 

Books accessible via NYPL

https://catalog.nypl.org/​

You can search the titles below on the NYPL catalog (link above) by title and author. 

Imperialism: French and American Colonial Attitudes in Vietnam and Abroad

Internet Links

JSTOR (access via NYPL databases) 

https://www.jstor.org/

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides a ton of resources for those interested in art, art history and humanities research. Please consult the video on this page for assistance in using and searching in JSTOR. 

The articles below are an example of a great resource about the themes discussed in Danh Vo's artwork that can be found in JSTOR. 

Books accessible via NYPL

https://catalog.nypl.org/​

You can search the titles below on the NYPL catalog (link above) by title and author. 

Found Art: The Artist's relationship to the readymade

Internet Links

The three links below are all from Tate Modern's website which offers great overviews of art eras, modes of art creation, artists, and schools of art. All of the links below are specific art forms that Danh Vo uses in Take My Breath Away. To search this general resource or view Tate's digital artist exhibits please follow this link: http://www.tate.org.uk/art  

JSTOR (access via NYPL databases) 

https://www.jstor.org/

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides a ton of resources for those interested in art, art history and humanities research. Please consult the video on this page for assistance in using and searching in JSTOR. 

The articles below are an example of a great resource about the themes discussed in Danh Vo's artwork that can be found in JSTOR. 

Kanopy (accessed via NYPL databases) 

https://www.kanopy.com/

Kanopy offers a great academic collection of film. The films range from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. The discovery system also offers a citation generator, commenting capabilities, sharing with people who are also members. 

This Kanopy documentary tells the story of one artist using Found Art practices to enliven and promote community values. It is a great example of how Found Art reflects our own cultural beliefs and allegiances. 

Books accessible via NYPL

https://catalog.nypl.org/

You can search the titles below on the NYPL catalog (link above) by title and author. 

American Culture: Realms of Influence and Commercialism

Internet Links

Books accessible via NYPL

https://catalog.nypl.org/

You can search the titles below on the NYPL catalog (link above) by title and author. 

Queer Art: Context, Sexuality and Expression

Internet Links

JSTOR (access via NYPL databases) 

https://www.jstor.org/

JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources. It provides a ton of resources for those interested in art, art history and humanities research. Please consult the video on this page for assistance in using and searching in JSTOR. 

The articles below are an example of a great resource about the themes discussed in Danh Vo's artwork that can be found in JSTOR. 

Book accessible via NYPL

https://catalog.nypl.org/

You can search for the title below on the NYPL catalog (link above) by title and author.