Very Short Introductions is a fantastic resource, allowing users to gain an introductory level of knowledge on a topic quickly. By using the video guide above, you can browse through a wide range of material in an easy to digest format including countless resources on Islam and nearly any other topic you could imagine!
This page is a subset of texts derived from the three major online Sourcebooks listed below, along with added texts and web site indicators. For more contextual information, for instance about Western imperialism, or the history of a given period, check out these web sites.
An interactive database and map for countries all across the world providing data on geography, history, economy, government, and more. Though this source doesn't directly pertain to Islam, it is a great way to learn about the Middle East and countries that have strong ties with Islam.
This comprehensive and interactive timeline provided by PBS includes pivotal moments in world history relating to Islam. Users are able to filter the timeline to show all or none of the following categories: faith, politics, culture, and innovation.
A multi-disciplinary database of more than 4600 magazines and journals, including full text for nearly 3900 peer-reviewed titles. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for 8470 journals
Google Scholar Search
Use the Google Scholar search box above to find scholarly resources on Muslim history. Its default is to search "Muslim History" but also try some of the suggested search terms below or create your own:
Did you know the ice cream cone was invented by a Muslim American? Well, you do now. This article from The Guardian highlights a few of the amazing contributions of Muslim Americans. In an era where President Trump wishes to enforce a Muslim ban, it is important to highlight how important our Muslim peers are to our country. Without them, America wouldn't be as great.
Places Muslim Americans in the Center of American History and Culture Muslims have long played a central role in American history. Since the colonial period, when an estimated 20,000 African Muslims were transported to America as slaves, to the early 20th century, when Muslim immigrants came to the United States from the Middle East, Europe, and Asia, to the present day, Islam has been an integral part of the American experience. The terrorist attacks of 9/11 produced a heavy backlash against Muslim Americans, contributing to their being stereotyped, maligned, and marginalized in American society. Encyclopedia of Muslim-American History places Muslim Americans squarely in the center of American history and culture. Written in clear and jargon-free prose, this authoritative reference provides a new and broader, more inclusive approach to American history. Including nearly 300 articles, this two-volume reference set is the first to focus on this critical subject, covering all the historical and contemporary issues, events, people, court cases, themes, and activism relating to Muslim Americans. More than 100 historians, scholars, and experts contributed to this encyclopedia, tracing the experiences and impact that Muslim Americans have had on our nation's history for hundreds of years. Helpful reference features include original documents, a master chronology, and an extensive bibliography.
Muslims in America by Edward E. Curtis
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Muslims in America is the first single-authored book to treat the history of Muslims in America from the colonial era to the present day, a surprising gap in the literature. It describes the racial and religious strands of American Islam and describes Muslims' presence and practice in Americasince they first came to the United States, setting American Islam in the context of larger events such as slavery, the Cold War, and feminism. Curtis argues that American Islam is a transnational phenomenon, and explains how anti-Muslim prejudice, domestic racism, and U.S. foreign policy in Africa and Asia have encouraged the rise of a political Islam in the United States. Curtis also shows how most Muslims in the U.S. are overwhelminglyinvested in ideas of democracy and peaceful social change. Even more, this work highlights Muslims who want nothing to do with politics, choosing to focus on spiritual enlightenment, their family's financial success, and other goals. In so doing, the book also reveals the richness of Sunni, Shi'i,Sufi and other forms of Islamic theology, ethics, and rituals in the United States.