Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Where To See The Color School Artists
Map of Museums in Manhattan
Thomas J. Watson Library is the research library for The Metropolitan Museum of Art. They have a comprehensive collection of books and periodicals that relate to art history. The mission of the library is to support the research activities of Museum staff; however, the library welcomes a broad range of students and researchers at the undergraduate level and above. available by appointment
Explore 4,000 years of art and Jewish culture. Unfortunately the Jewish Museum does not have a library that is accessible to the public or researchers, however their collection website is very comprehensive and informative
The Museum of Modern Art Library is a comprehensive collection containing information about modern and contemporary art. The collection does not circulate but contains documents painting, sculpture, drawings, prints, photography, architecture, design, performance, video, film, and emerging art forms from 1880 to the present. The Library owns about 300,000 books and exhibition catalogs, over 1,000 periodical titles, and over 40,000 files of ephemera about individual artists and groups. The library is accessible to the researchers by appointment or with a MoMA library card.
The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum Library’s aims to help the research endeavors of the museum’s professional staff. The Library also serves interns, volunteers, docents, and teachers at the museum. It is not open to public or researchers, however scholars can send inquiries to the archives or library email available on the website.
The Frances Mulhall Achilles Library at the Whitney Museum of American Art is a research collection of twentieth-century and contemporary American art. It was originally borne of the personal libraries of the Whitney's founder, Gertrude Vanderbilt Whitney, and its first director, Juliana Force. The catalog is accessible to the Whitney staff as well we scholars and researchers by appointment. The catalog is also searchable through an online proxy.
The Brooklyn Museum Libraries and Archives are currently open by appointment only due to maintenance. However the Library Online Catalogue and Archives finding aids available through the library's website are still open to anyone for better grounding to make a research appointment. Researchers can request access to the library by emailing the address available on the website to make an appointment
Metropolitan Museum of Art
The Met in NYC likely has the most expansive collection in the city, if not the country. Chances are if there is an artist or movement that you're interested in, the Met will have it. As such, a few of the Washington Color School Artists have art on view at the Met. Their website, linked here, allows for anyone to search the collection both on view and previously on view. A user can also search events and blog posts related to a keyword. All images acquired directly from the Met website.
Morris Louis "Alpha-Pi" 1960 Magna on Canvas 102x177
Sam Gilliam "Whirlirama" 1970 9ft x 9 ft
Alma Thomas "Red Roses Sonata" 1972 60x54
Kenneth Noland "October" 1961 94 x 92
Anne Truitt "Goldsborough" 1974 101x39x8
The Jewish Museum
The Jewish Museum is a collection of art and Jewish culture through history. The collection is searchable from the homepage and every search brings up related artists, works, and information. Image acquired from the Jewish Museum website.
Morris Louis "Man Reaching For a Star" 1952 32x28
Museum of Modern Art
Museum of Modern Art
MoMA is a collection of modern and contemporary art throughout history, not exclusive to America or Europe. Their images are not fair use so they are not included in this section. However a search of an artist or work of art through the website does yield a high quality image along with information about the work of art.
Whitney Museum of American Art
The Whitney is a collection of American Art on display in Manhattan. Being so, the museum has the largest variety of Washington Color School artists and widest scope of their art. The collection is searchable from their homepage and each work includes bibliographic information along with historical context for the art. All images acquired from the Whitney collection website.
Morris Louis "Tet" 1958 94x152
Gene Davis "Three Columns" 1960 92x131
Kenneth Noland "Song" 1958 65x65
Sam Gilliam "Untitled, (Black)" 1978 85x120
Howard Mehring "Mach IV" 1966 83x82
Thomas Downing "Five" 1967 72x105
Anne Truitt "Shear No. 16" 1976 22x30
Alma Thomas "Mars Dust" 1972 69x57
The Guggenheim is yet another collection of modern and contemporary art not limited to American art. The collection is searchable through the collection page on the website and each search yields bibliographic information about the work, any exhibitions it was a part of, and information about the work and the movement it was part of. All images acquired from the Guggenheim website.
Morris Louis "Saraband" 1959 8x12 ft
Kenneth Noland "Trans Shift" 1964 100x113
Helen Frankenthaler "Canal" 1963 81x57
Collection Online. (2018, April 13). Retrieved from https://www.guggenheim.org/collection-online
Collection. (n.d.). Retrieved April, 2018, from https://www.metmuseum.org/art/landing-page
The Collection | MoMA. (n.d.). Retrieved April, 2018, from https://www.moma.org/collection/
Open today from 11 am - 5:45 pm. (n.d.). Retrieved April, 2018, from https://thejewishmuseum.org/collection
Works on View. (n.d.). Retrieved April, 2018, from http://collection.whitney.org/group/5