Skip to main content

Podcasting for College Students: Databases & Resources

A guide to resources, both online and in the NYC area, for creating and maintaining podcasts.

Podcasting Logo

Proprietary Databases

diagram with circles and arrows representing the connections between podcasts, people, episodes, and categories

(image from Objectivity)

You can use and reuse media from the following websites as long as your podcast is not-for-profit and you give the appropriate credit to the content creator:

FreeSound logo

Free Sound Project— a collaborative repository of CC licensed audio samples, and non-profit organisation, with more than 230,000 sounds and effects, and millions of registered users. Sounds are uploaded to the website by its users, and cover a wide range of subjects, from field recordings to synthesised sounds. Audio content in the repository can be tagged and browsed by folksonomic means as well as standard text-based search.

(image via FreeSound.org)


Free music Archive logo

Free Music Archive— Searchable by genre, the Free Music Archive is an interactive library of high-quality, legal audio downloads directed by WFMU, the most renowned freeform radio station in America. Radio has always offered the public free access to new music. The Free Music Archive is a continuation of that purpose, designed for the age of the internet. Launched in 2009, every MP3 available on The Free Music Archive is pre-cleared for certain types of uses that would otherwise be prohibited by copyright laws that were not designed for the digital era.

(image via FreeMusicArchive)


Prelinger Collection logo

The Prelinger Archive— a collection of films relating to U.S. cultural history, the evolution of the American landscape, everyday life and social history. The collection has over 60,000 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films. In 2002, the film collection was acquired by the Library of Congress, Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division. Prelinger Archives remains in existence, holding approximately 11,000 digitized and videotape titles (all originally derived from film) and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films acquired since 2002. Its primary collection emphasis has turned toward home movies and amateur films, with approximately 12,000 items held as of Spring 2015. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere.

(image via Wikimedia Commons)


Creative Commons logoCreative Commons—Music and audio tracks published under Creative Commons’ flexible copyright licenses.

(image via Creative Commons)


Cowbird logo, "a witness to life" Cowbird—Cowbird is “a public library of human experience”, whose mission is to gather and preserve stories of human life, so that individual insight and wisdom can guide and inform others’ lives. Cowbird’s archive contains 88,403 stories on 28,107 topics from 14,619 authors in 186 countries. In early 2017, after five years as a public storytelling tool, Cowbird stopped accepting new contributions, shifting its operations to preserve its stories as an historical archive. This may be a good resource for studying interview and storytelling techniques.

(image via Cowbird)


Third Coast International Audio Festival logo

Third Coast—Curates and shares audio stories from around the world. Third Coast International Audio Festival (TCIAF), based in Chicago, curates sound-rich audio stories from around the world and shares them via radio, podcast, public events, annual conference and their website. Operating year-round, Third Coast offers producers and listeners a multitude of ways to celebrate audio storytelling.

(image via Third Coast's Twitter)


 

Footer

LibGuide created in conjunction with LIS 652-1: Information Services and Sources at the Pratt Institute School of Information, Spring 2018. 

Banner image via "Podcast Advertising on the Rise in Australia," Digital Market Asia, February 26, 2018.