Skip to main content

Resources in NYC for Pratt LIS graduate students: Libraries

This is a guide intended to provide library students the resources to help them experience the different opportunities that New York City has to offer.

Libraries in NYC Area

This list of libraries in NYC includes well known ones like the NYPL and lesser known ones. LIS students will find value in visiting these locations and observing the similarities and differences in each in the context of learning more about professions in the field, in addition to utilizing the services at these libraries for their own study and work. The information for the links were taken directly from the library's website.

This list of libraries in NYC includes well known ones like the NYPL and lesser known ones. LIS students will find value in visiting these locations and observing the similarities and differences in each in the context of learning more about professions in the field, in addition to utilizing the services at these libraries for their own study and work.

This list of libraries in NYC includes well known ones like the NYPL and lesser known ones. LIS students will find value in visiting these locations and observing the similarities and differences in each in the context of learning more about professions in the field, in addition to utilizing the services at these libraries for their own study and work.

This list of libraries in NYC includes well known ones like the NYPL and lesser known ones. LIS students will find value in visiting these locations and observing the similarities and differences in each in the context of learning more about professions in the field, in addition to utilizing the services at these libraries for their own study and work.

Events and Resources

Statistics

According to the New York State Education Department, this chart provides information reflecting library statistics for New York State in 2014 and is a broad look into the number of libraries in the state, which are separated by type, and the expenditures on salaries and materials. It would be useful for library students to have statistical knowledge of data relating to libraries in New York. It was last updated: September 22, 2015

Getting Experience - Internship Opportunities

There are plenty of benefits when seeking opportunities in libraries as well. It helps you become familiar with the profession and can help you understand where your interests lie within an area of librarianship, and provides opportunities to add products to your portfolio or resume.

Some of the benefits for interns mentioned include:

  • "Opportunities for high quality, hands-on experience in a real world library setting, including mentorship, job-shadowing, and exposure to many different kinds of library roles and projects."
  • "Professional skill development and resume-building in a supportive environment."
  • "Chance for interns to confirm that they are on the right career path and/or determine specific interests or areas of specialization within library environments to pursue."
  • "Access to building new professional relationships, networks, job contacts, and potential reference."
  • "Opportunities to gain and fulfill academic credits and requirements, all while applying real world practice to academic learning."

These resources are great starting places to look for internships and jobs in relation to the library field. In addition to the resources below, LIS students can check a specific library's website for internship opportunities. 

Using Pratt Catalog

The libraries at Pratt’s Brooklyn and Manhattan campuses are rich resources for textbook materials, e-books, digital images, articles, and databases. Students can use the search functions to search for a book in the topic they need. Reference questions can also be directed to the library's Ask-A-Librarian page, which provides service through instant messaging, email, phone, text, in person, and by appointment.

Pratt libguides below will help graduate students make full use of the school's library services, including finding digital images, use the EBSCO platform to download ebooks, how to use interlibrary loan to locate and acquire materials not owned by Pratt libraries, and instructions for how Pratt students can use other important library tools.  

Books from Pratt Institute Libraries Catalog

The small selection of books below reflects some found in the library's collection, and includes the call number.