Skip to main content

General and Collection Development Resources for New School Librarians: Collection Development Websites

This libguide was created to assist new elementary school librarians in New York City with collection development.

Awards

National Book Award official site

Newbery Medal official site

Caldecott Medal official site

John Steptoe New Talent Award official site

Schneider Family Book Award official site

Mildred L. Batchelder Award official site

Odyssey Award official site

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award official site

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Award official site

Stonewall Book Award for Children and Young Adult Books official site

Irma Black Award official site *hosted by Bank Street College, and specific to school libraries

Awards for Books that Depict Diversity

American Indian Youth Literature Award official site

Asian/Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA) Literature Award official site

Chinese American Librarians Association (CALA) Best Book Award official site

Coretta Scott King Book Awards official offical site

Pura Belpré Award official site

Book Review Websites:

Library Journal

Booklist

Kirkus Reviews

The Horn Book

New York Times Children's Book Reviews

Brightly

Launched in partnership with Penguin Random House, the Webby-nominated website features book recommendations from all publishers for every age and stage, reading tips and insights, seasonal inspirations, author essays, contests, gift guides, and more.

ALA Notables

This ALA hosted website highlights quality children's literature that is defined as "Worthy of note or notice, important, distinguished, outstanding." Books that have have won Newbery, Caldecott, Belpré, Sibert, Geisel, Batchelder Award and Honor awards are automatically added to this list.

Other Collection Websites

Tales 2 Go

Stream thousands of popular children's audio books right to your computer. 
Ideal for inspiring young readers in the classroom and beyond. Free for school libraries.

NetGalley

NetGalley is a site where book reviewers and other professional readers can read books before 
they are published, in e-galley or digital galley form. Registration is free, and allows you to request or be invited to read titles, 
often advance reading copies.

Edelweiss

Search frontlist and backlist catalogs of all major publishers on the largest digital catalog platform, and
download digital review copies and access reviews by other book professionals. Account is free.

Book Read Alike Resources

General Collection Development Resources:

Titlewave

This resource is brought to you by Follett Destiny and is connected to your catalog. Quickly find only the best, educationally-relevant content to support learning.

Junior Library Guild

Finding the right books at the right price can be a challenge. JLG's monthly collection 
development service puts the best reviewed books in the hands of PreK-12 readers.

BookPulse

Welcome to Book Pulse, a daily update designed to help collection development and readers’ advisory librarians navigate the never-ending wave of new books and book news. Here you will find highlights of titles moving in the marketplace and getting buzz, bookish stories making news, and key items from the literary web.

Children's and Teen Services

Our mission is to focus on your needs, providing expertise on workflow and collection development support, and collaborating with you to optimize your
services.

High Noon Books

High Noon Books cares about the needs of the struggling reader. We enjoy attending conferences and hearing from teachers about the various High Noon series they have used for years. It inspires us to continue to be true to the people that we serve: individuals who are beginning to read English, are reading below reading level, or just need motivating topics to inspire them to read more.

Barrington Stoke

Barrington Stoke specialises in 'cracking reading', publishing super-readable children’s books that break down the barriers that can stop kids getting into reading. Our first-rate short fiction brings together the very best children’s authors and illustrators in the UK with a host of unique accessibility features to offer cracking reads accessible to more children including those with dyslexia or visual stress.

Saddleback Educational Publishing

Saddleback Educational Publishing has been the leading source of solutions for struggling learners in middle school and high school for over 30 years. Saddleback publishes Award-Winning Urban Fiction, well-known Illustrated Classics, Adapted Classics, supplemental alternative curriculum as well as the largest assortment of hi-lo (high-interest, low-readability) books. Saddleback believes that by engaging the reader with age-appropriate covers and content, even the most at-risk and struggling learner can achieve success.

My Library NYC

Gain access to millions of free resources and enhanced library privileges (No fines on books; Extended borrowing on books; Exclusive use of over 6,000 Teacher Sets designed just for educators; Free school delivery and pick up for Teacher Sets).
 
NYPL Best Books List and NYPL Best Books for 2017
 
The New York Public Library is thrilled to announce our Best Books for Kids and Teens, featuring a curated selection of recommended reads selected by our expert librarians. The lists contain books spanning an array of genres, from picture books to graphic novels, with diverse characters and rich storytelling. Explore these top titles and discover books that will inspire a love of reading.
THE CHILDREN’S BOOK COMMITTEE at Bank Street College of Education strives to guide librarians, educators, parents, grandparents, and other interested adults to the best books for children published each year. 

The Best Children's Books of the Year, 2017 Edition includes more than 600 titles chosen by the Children’s Book Committee as the best of the best published in 2016. In choosing books for the annual list, reviewers consider literary quality and excellence of presentation as well as the potential emotional impact of the books on young readers. Other criteria include credibility of characterization and plot, authenticity of time and place, age suitability, positive treatment of ethnic and religious differences, and the absence of stereotypes.

Nonfiction titles are further evaluated for accuracy and clarity. Each book accepted for the list is read and reviewed by at least two committee members and then discussed by the committee as a whole.

 
The Children's Book Council is a United States "nonprofit trade association of publishers and packagers of trade books and related materials for children and young adults", according to its website, dedicated to promoting children’s books and reading.
 
 

ALA's 2016 Graphic Novels List

This is ALA's list of 2016's best graphic novels.

Scholastic Graphic Novels

Scholastic provides lesson plans for using graphic novels as well as recommendations for purchases.

Book Read-Alikes

Children's library staff members are often called upon to do readers' advisory - offering reading selections to a young person based on that person's interests. Many times a reader will offer the title of a favorite book, and want similar books, which are called Read-Alikes. The demand for read-alikes is on the increase, so BayNews now offers a regular column of read-alikes.

Diverse Collection Development Resources:

We Need Diverse Books

We Need Diverse Books is a nonprofit organization created to promote diversity of multiple forms in children's literature and publishing.

Disability in Kid Lit

Disability in Kidlit is dedicated to discussing the portrayal of disability in middle grade and young adult literature. They publish articles, reviews, interviews, and discussions examining this topic from various angles—and always from the disabled perspective.

Lee & Low Books

Lee & Low Books is the largest multicultural children's book publisher in the country. They are also one of the few minority-owned publishing companies in the United States, as well as a throwback to what many publishers used to be: independent, generational businesses in which the people running the company have a personal stake in its success. 

Colorín Colorado!

A bilingual site for educators and families of English Language Learners

Gay Themed Picture Books

This list serves three purposes: for parents who would like to find books for their children or a family member, two: for librarians who would like to develop collections on this topic, and three: for counselors and therapists who would like to use these books in their practices. Summaries included are from the Library of Congress, Books in Print or book catalogs. 

Everyday Diversity

The Everyday Diversity project is a tool to help librarians find storytime books that predominantly feature People of Color and Native Americans as main characters in contemporary everyday life. Representation matters. No one should feel like an outsider at storytime.

Doing a YA Collection Diversity Audit: Resources and Sources 

This website is geared towards YA books and librarians but there is still a lot of good information about diversity and publishing.

Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Diversity Resources

This website lists award winning diverse literature as well as websites, blogs, and awards that promote and talk about diversity within publishing and libraries.

Educational Resources for Librarians

Collection Development Policies and Procedures in School Libraries

This website provides many links to other useful collection development websites/articles. It is part of a larger website which provides general information that supports school librarians.
 

ALA Collection Development

This website lists a bunch of collection development resources that ALA recommends as useful.

A Quick Guide to Selecting Great Informational Books for Young Children

Google Classroom

Classroom is a free web service for schools, non-profits, and anyone with a personal Google Account. Classroom makes it easy for learners and instructors to connect—inside and outside of schools.  

Common Sense Media

Common Sense Media improves the lives of kids and families by providing independent reviews, age ratings, & other information about all types of media.

Edutopia

Edutopia shares evidence and practitioner-based learning strategies that empower you to improve K-12 education. This website does not focus on school librarians but it is a good resource for teaching and teaching strategies.

Read. Write. Think

Providing educators and students access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts instruction.

NY Learns

NYLearns.org is a standard-based, educational website that offers resources to enhance teaching and learning.

TeachingBooks.net

Authors Up-close provides virtual access to the best children's book authors and illustrators.

Fun and Educational Resources for Students

ALA Great Websites for Kids

Newsela

Newsela is an Instructional Content Platform that supercharges reading engagement and learning in every subject. This site provides easy access to leveled newspaper articles about current events.

Newspapers.com

The premier website for historical newspapers (1700's-2000's) from across the United States.

Buncee

A creation and presentation tool with unlimited possibilities for bringing learning to life. Transforming people of all ages into creators, storytellers, and future-ready digital citizens.

Biblionasium

Part kids social network, part parent’s guide, part educator's tool, this free resource blends technology with personal connection to create a supportive, engaging space for reading success. Kids themselves can recommend and review books creating a rare opportunity to see what kids really think about books.

Kahoot!

Kahoot! is a free game-based learning platform that makes it fun to learn – any subject, in any language, on any device, for all ages!

Speakaboos

Speakaboos is a library of over 200 interactive stories and songs designed to make reading your child's favorite activity.

Order in the Library Game

Teach your students how to arrange books in call number order with this fun interactive teaching tool. Level: Easy.

Order in the Library Game

This library organization game is more advanced but less user-friendly than the game above (Mrs. Lodge's).

Library Organization Resources-The Library Ninja

This site provides simple definitions and explanations regarding library organization, as well as children-made tutorials/lessons.

Code.org

Code.org is a non-profit dedicated to expanding access to computer science and increasing participation by women and underrepresented minorities. 

Lightbot Coding

The 'Hour of Code' is nationwide initiative by Computer Science Education Week [csedweek.org] andCode.org [code.org] to introduce millions of students to one hour of computer science and computer programming.

Starfall

Starfall Education Foundation is a publicly supported nonprofit organization. They create free and low-cost experiences whereby children can successfully learn through exploration. On the Starfall website and in Starfall classrooms, children have fun while learning in an environment of collaboration, wonderment, and play.

Storyline Online

The SAG-AFTRA Foundation’s award-winning children’s literacy website, Storyline Online, streams imaginatively produced videos featuring celebrated actors including Viola Davis, Chris Pine, Rashida Jones, Lily Tomlin, Kevin Costner, Annette Bening, James Earl Jones, and Betty White reading children’s books alongside creatively produced illustrations, helping to inspire a love of reading in children.

BrainPop and BrainPop Jr.

Engaging learning games, animated movies, and activities. Designed with relevance, depth, and humor to encourage kids on their unique learning paths. Supporting teachers' roles and needs with classroom-optimized tools, shaped by millions of hours of use by students and teachers in diverse learning settings.

Guys Read

A phenomenal web-based literacy program for boys, with a mission to “help boys become self-motivated, lifelong readers.” Designed and presented by award-winning author Jon Sczieska, this is a wonderful collection of books and authors boys love.

Professor Garfield

Our mission is to be a world leader in the direct, free delivery of innovative and motivational digital learning content with a primary emphasis on children's literacy and creative expression. Initially, we will accomplish this by creating fun and educationally sound interactive activities and games where kids like to play -- on the Internet -- supplemented with standards-based resources for teachers, parents and mentors.

Funbrain

Funbrain offers hundreds of games, books, comics, and videos that develop skills in math, reading, problem-solving, and literacy.

ToonDoo

ToonDoo is a cool, comic-creating tool from Jambay, a fun site for kids. Jambay is devoted to creating a unique array of free and customizable online games of educational value for children of all abilities.

BookHive

Comprehensive website for children from birth – 12, this site provides hundreds of recommended book reviews in a variety of reading levels and interest areas.

ReadingRockets

Our goal is to bring the reading research to life — to spread the word about reading instruction and to present "what works" in a way that parents and educators can understand and use.

Selection Policies

Read your new library's collection development policy, and adjust if necessary. If it doesn't have one, create/adopt one. 

ALA Workbook on Selection Policy Writing 

Standards for School Library Resource Collections - State of South Carolina, 2016

Westwood Elementary School Library Collection Development Policy - Fairview, TN

Urban School Library Collection Development Policy - San Francisco, CA

St. Bonaventure School Library Collection Development Policy - Huntington Beach, CA

Useful Blogs to Follow

Feedly

Feedly is a news aggregator application for various web browsers and mobile devices running iOS and Android, also available as a cloud-based service. You can use it to keep of your blogs and new posts.

NYPL Online Resources

Research: Articles & Databases

Suggestions:

  • World Book (Kids)

Other Free Useful Resources:

  • Tumblebooks

    TumbleBookLibrary is a curated database of children's e-books, available by subscription to Elementary Schools and Public Libraries around the world.
  • Bookflix
     
    With colorful animation, rich audio, and interactive games, BookFlix is a perfect tool to engage and support beginning readers. 
  • Flipster

    The New York Public Library now offers free access to Flipster, a digital magazine platform that allows users to read more than 100 popular titles, including Bon Appetit, Cosmopolitan, O: The Oprah Magazine, Seventeen, Sports Illustrated, Time, and English and Spanish language editions of People.

Ways to Receive Free Books

  • Join a review group, like NYC Reads 365 . You are given a age range, you receive all of the NYC Reads considered books, you read and select books in your section, and you get to keep all of the books. Downside: they will send you books for all of the sections, so you will end up with Young Adult books you may not need for your library. You can always take those home, donate them, or give them to parents of older children.
  • Contact the New York Times children's book reviewer. The books that they review often sit on shelves and might be available to take. 
  • My Library NYC

    Gain access to millions of free resources and enhanced library privileges (No fines on books; Extended borrowing on books; Exclusive use of over 6,000 Teacher Sets designed just for educators; Free school delivery and pick up for Teacher Sets)