Skip to main content

20/SP-INFO-619-01: Memory

The left side of this page contains links to ongoing projects relating to the archiving and documentation of COVID-19 through the experience of people. The right side of this page contains links that may be useful to those interested in beginning their own archive or documentation project from the perspective of ethical decision making, archival tradition, and technical skills.

Oral History Projects

Multimedia Collections

Government Information Archives

Living Digital Archive Through Hashtags

These hashtags are being used by archivists, historians, and members of the general public working to ensure this time in history is documented and preserved for cultural memory.

eBooks On Archiving

Journal Articles

Ethics and Archiving the Web: Archiving Trauma (Rhizome)

Ethics and Archiving the Web: Archiving Trauma from Rhizome on Vimeo.

Memory work is a necessary part of the always unfinished process of healing, fighting for justice, and seeking emancipation. Archives of all kinds can support this work, but they can also amplify the effects of trauma, stage it as spectacle for public consumption, or make victims newly vulnerable. This panel will explore both the potential for web archives to support valuable memory work in the wake of trauma, and to cause further harm.

Zines

Making a COVID19 zine? The Barnard Zine Library is currently collecting zines in this topic (and have already acquired some). See their website for more information.

The struggle of man against power is the struggle of memory against forgetting. — Mirek, in Milan Kundera's Book of Laughter and Forgetting