Skip to main content

Book Arts: Resources for Artists' Books & Bookmaking: Online Resources

This LibGuide will explore Book Arts from two perspectives: the history of the book and artists' book as innovations upon the traditional book.

Journals Online

Artists' Books

The Journal of Artists' Books
The Journal of Artists' Books publishes theory and criticism, as well as exhibition reviews, commentary on the world of books arts, and artists' books features and inserts. JAB Online has content accessible to everyone and the Journal of Artists' Books archive (full text) is available via the Art & Architecture Source database.

Pages from the artists’ book Untitled - Song of Myself - Walt Whitman, by Isabel Baraona made especially for JAB43, Spring 2018.
 
Afterimage
Afterimage is a published journal that focuses on media arts and cultural criticism and includes articles and features about artists books and alternative publishing. Afterimage online contains some content accessible to everyone and full text access to Afterimage is available via the Art & Architecture Source database.

Philip Zimmermann's Celsius 233 (2015), featured in Afterimage Volume 44, Number 1 & 2 (full text available via Pratt Library).

Bookmaking

The Bonefolder
The Bonefolder is an open access online journal about bookbinding and book artists produced between 2004 and 2012. It is currently archived at the Internet Archive.

Vessels by Adele Outteridge, featured in The Bonefolder, Volume 6, Number 2, 2010.

Open Access Websites

Artists' Books

Online Artists' Books
A robust repository of Artists' Books that includes images, detailed object data and analysis, and critical discussion.

Pages from the artists' book How to Humiliate Your Peeping Tom (1989) by Susan Baker.

Bookmaking

Book Arts Web
An online resource for both bookmakers and book artists, the site includes a plethora of links to professional organizations, museum and educational sites, blog, skills building resources, suppliers, sellers and some curated online exhibitions.

Peter D. Verheyen, The Thread That Binds by Pamela Leutz, Oak Knoll Press, 2010.
An online exhibition of Peter D. Verheyen's bookbinding work can be found on Book Arts Web.



Hand Bookbindings
The exhibition Hand Bookbindings: Plain and Simple to Grand and Glorious was on view at Princeton University’s Firestone Library in 2003. Now that the exhibition has run its course, it has been turned into an online display of over two hundred bindings. They are divided thematically into twenty-six categories.
Left to Right: An embroidered binding from the 17th Century and a 20th Century leather binding.

 

Video Resources

Centre for the History of The Book, University of Edinburgh Instructional Videos

This video from the experts at the University of Edinburgh covers the basic vocabulary of the rare book field, the history of some of the elements of bookmaking. Though rare books can seem somewhat removed from artists' books, much of the terminology around book sizes, materials, and components is very much the same in both fields. Likewise, as books before the Industrial Era were largely hand-made as artists' books are today, artists interested in handcrafting their work and making their materials from scratch will find this movie useful for understanding the techniques with which they will be acquainting themselves.