Skip to main content

Book Arts: Resources for Artists' Books & Bookmaking: Databases & Articles

This LibGuide will explore Book Arts from two perspectives: the history of the book and artists' book as innovations upon the traditional book.

DATABASES Available at Pratt

Artists' Books

Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines of research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. The magazines are scanned from cover-to-cover and presented as full-color page images.

Art & Architecture Source
A full-text source for academic journals, text books, magazines, and trade publications.

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
A collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.


Artstor
An extensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use. The collections feature visual media from museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists.

Fine Arts and Music Collection
Includes full text journals focused on drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

JSTOR

Offers more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

Library Stack
An online database of digital publications from the visual arts, focusing on overlooked ephemera such as artists’ ebooks, podcasts, filmed lectures, field recordings, typefaces, PDF journals and software.
Oxford Art Online
Composed of Grove Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics & Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Contains over 41,000 articles on the art and architecture of Asia, Africa, Europe, the Americas and the Pacific, with links to images and further information in museum and other art-related web sites.

Bookmaking

Art, Design & Architecture Collection
A collection of current publications in the fields of visual and applied arts. This collection includes the specialist indexes ARTbibliographies Modern (covering modern and contemporary art), Design and Applied Arts Index (for all aspects of design and crafts) and the International Bibliography of Art (covering scholarship on Western art history), together with a complementary collection of current full-text journals, Arts and Humanities Full Text.


Design & Applied Arts Index (DAAI)

Includes over 500 journals that cover industrial design, interior design, fashion, graphic design, typography, packaging, etc., since 1973.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)

This database contains full-text digital facsimiles of virtually every book printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America between 1473-1700. Changes in illustration techniques and typography can be observed in books selected from different chronological areas. 

John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera
This collection provides insight into advertisements, journals, playbills, and other printed materials from 18th, 19th, and 20th century, courtesy of the Bodleian Library at Oxford University. Its materials show how art and illustration evolved as industrialization provided artists and booktraders with new manufacturing and distribution processes.

Articles

The articles below can be used as a starting point for research on artists' books:
 
Athanasiu, E. (2015). Belonging: Artists’ Books and Readers in the Library. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 34(2), 330–338.  
 
Briand, D. (2015). There May be No Reason to Believe that the Artist Book Exists. Journal of Artists Books, (37), 26–28.
 
Brollo, D. (2016). Fumbling Hands and Phantom Limbs: The Photograph, the Hand and the Artists' Book. Journal of Artists Books, (39), 40–43. 
 
Carroll, M., & Dickerson, A. (2018). The Knowing of Artists’ Books. Journal of Artists Books, (43), 10–13. 
 
Drucker, J. (1999). Experimental Narrative and Artists’ Books. Journal of Artists Books, (12), 3–25. 
 
Sherwood, R. (2015). New Readings: The Comic as Artists’ Book. Art Libraries Journal, 40(1), 16–19. 
 
White, T. (2014). The Evolution of Artists’ Publishing. Art Documentation: Bulletin of the Art Libraries Society of North America, 33(2), 227–242. 

Citations

The articles listed above are are cited in APA style. For more information on citing your sources appropriately in various styles, see Purdue University's OWL (Online Writing Lab).

Accessing a Pratt Database