Skip to main content

Contemporary Literature of the Immigrant Experience in the United States: Latin America/Caribbean

Quote

“We're the unknown Americans, the ones no one even wants to know, because they've been told they're supposed to be scared of us and because maybe if they did take the time to get to know us, they might realize that we're not that bad, maybe even that we're a lot like them. And who would they hate then?” 

-- Christina Henríquez, The Book of Unknown Americans

Recommended Literature

Relevant Databases

Latino Literature

This database from Alexander Street Press encompasses more than 100,000 pages of poetry, short fiction, novels, and more than 450 plays.


Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)

This database indexes books, articles, reviews, bibliographies, and literary works appearing in scholarly journals covering Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanic America.


Handbook of Latin American Studies - HLAS Online

This open-access database from the Library of Congress is a bibliography of Latin American works in the social sciences and humanities that adds between 2,000 and 3,000 works yearly.

Cristina Henríquez, The Book of Unknown Americans, Chicago Humanities Festival, 2015

Reyna Grande on Immigration and Writing, 2016

Relevant Publications & Organizations

Remezcla: Culture

Started as a grass-roots project in 2008, Remezcla is a website dedicated to covering all aspects of Latinx culture. Its Culture section features extensive coverage of Latinx literature.


Latin American Literature Today

Associated with World Literature Today, Latin American Literature Today is a bilingual online journal focused on contemporary Spanish-language literature. It publishes interviews, essays, fiction, and poetry, among other content.


Origins: Women Writers of the Caribbean

Origins is a print and online literary journal devoted to distinct voices and unique stories, especially in relation to identity. The journal publishes English-language as well as translated essays, fiction, and interviews. It also creates and collaborates on various initiatives, such as promoting literacy and publishing authors from vulnerable groups who might not otherwise be heard. The Women Writers of the Caribbean section of the website publishes interviews with various Caribbean and Caribbean-American authors.


Journal of West Indian Literature

Published by the University of the West Indies, this print and online journal has been published since 1986. It features English-language and translated scholarly work on literature from the Caribbean and the Caribbean diaspora. Its articles and book reviews often touch on the topic of immigration.

Relevant Books